IDSVA Announces 2016 Honorary Degree Recipients

Celebrating our Tenth Anniversary, we are pleased to announce the following Honorary Degree Recipients, Commencement 2016, January 9, Morgan Library, New York City.

Power Boothe

Painter, Professor of Art, Former Dean, Hartford Art School, represented in Metropolitan Museum of Art, Guggenheim, The Whitney Museum of American Art, and MoMA.


Joyce Kozloff

American artist, feminist, founding member of the Heresies Collective. Represented in Brooklyn Museum, Fogg Art Museum, Harvard University, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Jewish Museum, MIT List Visual Arts Center.


Howard Caygill

European philosopher. Recent books include, On resistance: a philosophy of defiance and Levinas and the Political. Professor of Modern European Philosophy, Kingston University, London.

Deborah Willis

Contemporary African-American artist, photographer, curator, photographic historian, author; Chair of Department of Photography and Imaging, Tisch School of the Arts, NYU; MacArthur Fellow.


Ted Coons

Author and pioneer in neuro-aesthetics. Professor of Psychology, Cognition & Perception, Center for Neural Science, NYU.


Ewa Ziarek

Founder of Humanities Institute and Julian Park Professor of Comparative Literature and Director of Graduate Studies, SUNY Buffalo. Books include Feminist Aesthetics and the Politics of Modernism and An Ethics of Dissensus.


Stephen Greenblatt

American literary critic, theorist, scholar, Pulitzer Prize winning author. John Cogan University Professor of the Humanities, Harvard University.